

PRIZE WINNERS SINCE 1980

2020-2021

Elman Peace (Somalia) for its successful efforts to combat violence and promote social justice in Somalia and its outstanding record of empowering and cultivating leadership skills among women and young people.

2018-2019:

Wecyclers (Nigeria) for its innovative approach to engaging the community turning recycling into an economic driver for communities and turning citizens into agents of change.

2016-2017:

Kytabu (Kenya), **BarefootLaw** (Uganda) and **Farmerline** (Ghana) for showcasing the creativity of young, African entrepreneurs for innovative solutions that unlock the power of people and communities through better access to knowledge in fields as diverse as law (BarefootLaw), agriculture (Farmerline) and education (Kytabu).

2014-2015:

ADISCO (Burundi) for its work in encouraging entrepreneurship and creating cooperatives and health insurance societies federated at national level, so as to strengthen the financial autonomy of individuals and sustainably change the conditions of living together for the people of Burundi.

2012-2013:

Bogaletch Gebre (Ethiopia) for her inspirational leadership and her determination to build on a remarkable personal journey to empower the women of Ethiopia and establish a true community-based movement for social change.

2010-2011:

Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo) for his dedication and contribution to building an integrated health care system in Eastern Congo and for his profound commitment to his native country by tirelessly advocating a return to peace in a region where terror and fear destroy the very fabric of society.

2008-2009:

The KBR68H radio news agency (Indonesia), for its contribution to a sustainable development based on the strengthening of democracy, tolerance and citizen participation, by producing and disseminating qualitative information through a network of local radio stations and by promoting professional ethics in the media world.



2006-2007:

Front Line, The International Foundation for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders (Ireland), for the effectiveness of their efforts to combat the isolation faced by human rights defenders around the world, for the support and protection that they offer them, and for their continuing advocacy in favour of an international plan of action for human rights, which is an essential condition for development

2004-2005:

Ousmane Sy (Mali), for the strength of his vision and the courage of his convictions on the subject of governance in Africa, and for the originality of his campaigns in Mali by which, through a participatory process of decentralization and the organization of transparent elections, he has succeeded in creating an environment conducive to a better public administration and increased stability, two conditions that are crucial for development.

2002-2003:

Fairtrade Labelling Organizations International (FLO, secretariat located in Bonn, Germany) and its members, for their pioneering role in giving disadvantaged producers and workers in the developing world the opportunity to participate directly and at fair trade conditions in international trade, through a system of certification, producer support, business facilitation, and consumer education.

2000-2011:

Fundecor (Fundación para el Desarrollo de la Cordillera Volcanica Central - Costa Rica), for its innovative approach to environmental protection, which brings together economic, ecological and social concerns in a realistic vision of sustainable development, benefiting local populations as well as the entire planet.

1998-199:

The Human Rights Commission of Pakistan, chaired by Mrs. Asma Jahangir (Pakistan), for its commitment to the rule of law as a precondition for the development of the civil society, and for its contribution towards a global vision of development including the dignity of every individual, particularly in the case of women and children, who are the most vulnerable.

1996-1997:

The Landless Peasants' Movement (Brazil), for the vital role it is playing in the implementation of agrarian reform in Brazil, thus enabling the most destitute of Brazilians to be set back on their feet through a return to the land, at the same time giving them a new purpose in life and rediscovered dignity.



1994-1995:

The Aids Support Organization (TASO, Uganda), for its exemplary dedication in the area of mutual support and community development, and for the effectiveness of its action in the area of the prevention of, and follow-up work on Aids in Uganda.

1992-1993:

The Grameen Bank (Bangladesh), for its recognition of the role of women in the development process, and the originality of a system of financial loans contributing to the improvement of the social and material condition of women in rural environments, and their families.

1990-1991:

The Kagiso Trust (South Africa), for its contribution to development, education and the improvement of living conditions of the disadvantaged sections of its country's population. Non-violence, a respect for human rights and multiracial cooperation sum up succinctly the aims of the Kagiso Trust's activities.

1988-1989:

The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (India), for its ongoing efforts aimed at the training of rural workers, and providing appropriate technology transfer to their advantage.

1986-1987:

The International Foundation for Science (Sweden), for the originality and effectiveness of its action aiming to support a network of young researchers in less-developed countries, playing an active part in the advancement of these countries, particularly in the field of food resources.

1984-1985:

Dr. Walter Plowright (UK), for his scientific career which has led him to develop a vaccine against rinderpest, the use of which should culminate in the elimination of this scourge and thus improve the living conditions of the peoples of less-developed countries.

1982-1983:

Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne (Sri Lanka), President of the Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement, for his highly effective action aimed at encouraging local communities to take control of their own development.

1980-1981:

- Paulo Freire (Brazil), for his contribution to the spread of adult literacy.
- The Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), for its contribution to the qualitative and quantitative improvement of food production in the world.