Retour Annonces

Six projets d’entreprise dans des pays en développement reçoivent un soutien du Business Partnership Facility ‘Enterprises for SDGs’

[07.01.2020] Six projets d’entreprise qui contribuent aux Objectifs de Développement durable dans des pays en développement ont été sélectionnés pour le programme Business Partnership Facility de la Coopération belge au Développement et de la Fondation Roi Baudouin. Un soutien total d’un million d’euros est octroyé dans le cadre de cette nouvelle sélection.

Le programme de soutien Business Partnership Facility ‘Enterprises for SDGs’ apporte son appui à des projets d’entreprises innovants qui s’engagent en faveur d’au moins un des Objectifs de Développement durable (Sustainable Development Goals of SDGs), les 17 objectifs des Nations Unies qui veulent éliminer l’extrême pauvreté et rendre notre monde plus durable d’ici 2030. Lors de la sélection, une attention particulière a été accordée à la création d’emplois et à l’amélioration de la position des femmes, à l’impact écologique (atténué) et bien sûr, à la viabilité économique durable et aux opportunités de croissance ou de diffusion du business model. Une collaboration avec différents partenaires est également un critère de choix.

Après une première sélection en juin 2019 – au cours de laquelle 11 projets avaient reçu un soutien total de 1,75 million d’euros – un jury indépendant a, pour cette deuxième sélection, choisi six nouveaux projets d’entreprise qui bénéficient d’un soutien. Un projet se situe au Népal et cinq, en Afrique : Côte d’Ivoire, Guinée, Mozambique, Ouganda et Rwanda. Ceux-ci ont pour objet la production de miel, de chocolat et de café équitables, de diamants ‘éthiques’, de briques résistantes et moins nocives pour l’environnement, le traitement des déchets pour du compost:

  • Build up Nepal – Scale up of innovative micro-enterprise model and eco-friendly brick technology across Nepal that provides long-term local jobs and safe, affordable housing for low-income families, women and youth (Nepal)
  • Cap Source – Development of a responsible supply chain of ethical diamonds or artisanal origin from Guinea to Belgium (Guinée)
  • Galler – People, Planet & Cocoa. Une cacaoculture durable pour les producteurs de la coopérative Yeyasso (Côte d’Ivoire)
  • Terra Nova – Augmenter le recyclage des déchets urbains en compost par Terra Nova au profit des ménages vulnérables et des petits paysans de Beir (Mozambique)
  • Tropic Coffee Company – Young entrepreneurs’ partnership for enhancing Fair Trade and organic coffee value chains with small farmers (3Coffee 4Export) (Rwanda)
  • World of Bees – Accelerating inclusive apiculture businesses in Uganda for people and planet (Uganda)

Le vice-Premier ministre et ministre des Finances et de la Coopération au développement, Alexander De Croo, a débloqué un total de 12 millions d’euros pour la période 2019-2024, et signé une convention avec la Fondation Roi Baudouin pour la gestion du Business Partnership Facility. Fin 2018, la Fondation lançait l’appel à projets ‘Enterprises for SDGs’ en collaboration avec la Coopération belge au Développement (DGD). Le soutien peut aller de 50.000 et 200.000 euros, et ne dépasse pas le double de l’apport financier propre des partenaires de chaque projet. L’objectif du financement est de couvrir conjointement la période à risque et, à long terme, d’arriver à une entreprise commercialement viable.

Retour aux dernières annonces

Pour être informé(e) des nouvelles de nos partenaires et de nos appels à projets.

S’inscrire à la newsletter

Back to all Announcements

Six business projects in developing countries get support from the Business Partnership Facility ‘Enterprises for SDGs’

[07.01.2020] Six business projects in developing countries, which are making a contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals, have been chosen for the Business Partnership Facility support programme of the Belgian Development Cooperation and the King Baudouin Foundation. A total of one million euros has been awarded for this new selection of projects.

The Business Partnership Facility ‘Enterprises for SDGs’ programme provides support for innovative enterprises that share at least one of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the 17 objectives set out by the United Nations with the aim of eliminating poverty and making our world more sustainable between now and 2030. The selection process pays particular attention to the creation of jobs, women’s empowerment, (lower) ecological impact, as well, of course, as the project’s contribution to sustainable economic impact and growth opportunities and the spread of the business model. Cooperation with other partners is also a criterion of choice in the selection of projects.

Following a first selection in June 2019, in which 11 projects were awarded a total of 1.75 million euros in support, an independent selection committee made a new selection of six business projects to be supported. One of these is in Nepal and five are in Africa: Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Uganda, Mozambique and Rwanda. The businesses involve the production of honey, sustainable coffee and chocolate, ethical diamonds, bricks that are less harmful to the environment and the treatment of waste products and compost:

  • Build up Nepal – Scale up of innovative micro-enterprise model and eco-friendly brick technology across Nepal that provides long-term local jobs and safe, affordable housing for low-income families, women and youth (Nepal)
  • Cap Source – Development of a responsible supply chain of ethical diamonds or artisanal origin from Guinea to Belgium (Guinea)
  • Galler – People, Planet & Cocoa. Une cacaoculture durable pour les producteurs de la coopérative Yeyasso (Côte d’Ivoire)
  • Terra Nova – Augmenter le recyclage des déchets urbains en compost par Terra Nova au profit des ménages vulnérables et des petits paysans de Beir (Mozambique)
  • Tropic Coffee Company – Young entrepreneurs’ partnership for enhancing Fair Trade and organic coffee value chains with small farmers (3Coffee 4Export) (Rwanda)
  • World of Bees – Accelerating inclusive apiculture businesses in Uganda for people and planet (Uganda)

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and International Development, Alexander De Croo, has released a total of 12 million euros for the 2019-2024 period and signed an agreement with the King Baudouin Foundation for the management of the Business Partnership Facility. At the end of 2018, the Foundation launched the ‘Enterprises for SDGs’ call for projects together with the Belgian Development Cooperation (BDC). Support for any one project ranges from 50,000 to 200,000 euros, but this cannot exceed the financial involvement of the project’s own partners. The aim of the financial support provided is to jointly cover the risk period and, long term, to succeed in developing a commercially viable enterprise.

 

Donate
Back to Latest Announcements

To stay informed about news from our partners and new calls for proposals

Subscribe to the newsletter