KBF Africa Prize |

The KBF Africa Prize rewards African organisations which contribute to sustainably improving the lives of people in Africa.

The Prize is awarded every other year and seeks to draw public attention to the many inspirational stories, challenges and successes emerging from the African continent. Beyond its monetary value of 200.000 euros, it offers its winners unique opportunities to increase their visibility and promote their cause to international audiences.

That the Prize’s impact is much more than financial, is confirmed by two former Winners in a short video Crossing continents: the KBF Africa Prize experience.

Present and past Laureates of the KBF Africa Prize: Fartuun Adan, Rakia Bihi, Samiya Gaid and Ilwad Elman of Elman Peace (Somalia), Tonee Ndungu of Kytabu (Kenya), Bilikiss Adebiyi-Abiola of Wecyclers (Nigeria), Alloysius Attah of Farmerline (Ghana), Ousmane Sy (Mali), Gerald Abila of BarefootLaw (Uganda) and Deogratias Niyonkuru of ADISCO (Burundi)

Who can be awarded?

The KBF Africa Prize rewards organisations which have been established in Africa, by Africans and which are managed and led by Africans.

The Prize pays particular attention to initiatives that tackle challenges in Africa in transformative ways, which are resilient and adaptable in a constantly changing context, which have a long-term vision, and which empower people to take their future into their own hands.

Selection Criteria

The selection criteria for the Prize are outlined in this document.

Selection Committee

The KBF Africa Prize laureate is carefully selected by an independent Selection Committee consisting of 12 international experts.

KBF Africa Prize 2023-2024

The selection procedure for the KBF Africa Prize 2023-2024 has been finalised. The new Laureate will be announced in the coming weeks.


Elman Peace (2020/2021)

Combat violence and promote social justice, empower and cultivate leadership skills among [...]

Read more


Wecyclers, Nigeria (2018/2019)

Leveraging the power of Lagos' communities by redistributing benefits from recycled waste.

Read more


BarefootLaw, Farmerline & Kytabu (2016/2017)

For their work to improve access to knowledge in law, agriculture and education.

Read more


ADISCO, Burundi (2014/2015)

Encourage entrepreneurship and create cooperatives and health insurance societies.

Read more

To stay informed about news from our partners and new calls for proposals

Subscribe to the newsletter